Author Topic: +12 Volt on PCI Post Card -did not light up  (Read 3697 times)

Offline jimmimcsandy

Im a newbie so.. cut me a lil slack..

Have had a pc thats been giving me some trouble, - powering on from the front hasn't worked for a year.. - if i flip the power switch on the back (where the power cord plugs in) - on/off 3, 4, 5, 10 times finally the system boots up..

Tried replacing the power supply - same problem,
..leaving the new power supply in.. with only Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor attached externally and HD attached internally - - (removing power from CD Roms, Floppy and detaching printer and network) - same problem

Bought Spyware Doctor (both the CD kit with USB, loopbacks, and PCI post card)

Since VID output - is NONE existant -except on that rare 10th, 12th or 20th flip of the switch -figured the pci post card would help

Took it out of the packaging - jumpers are set J1-2 and J3-4 as "shorted" for Intelligent Mode 1, REMOVED POWER CORD as per instructions from back of power supply (cause even I know some power supplies provide power to the mobo even while turned off) - installed the PCI Post Card into the pci slot - juiced the system from the front - fans spin up.. [00] displayed in post card.. but +12V LED doesnt light,

Reset is LIT-Green (on)
Clock is LIT - Green (on)
+12V black :( off
-12V  is AMBER - on
+5v is Red - ON
+3.3V is Red - ON

so i know power supply is not the cause of the problem,

shut it down.. - removed power and data from HD Drive

Rebooted (with pci post card still installed) - SAME results as before NO +12V

What could it be?.. something on mobo -toast -time to replace?
..could it be the microprocessor itself?..

Could "defective ram" be pulling down the supply ? . (or not likely since i dont think they operate on the 12V side of supply)

Help..any suggestions - greatly appreciated.

Offline fwilson

Jimmimcsandy,