Author Topic: testing motherboard  (Read 3305 times)

Offline jasglover

hi, I'm new to using the PC-Doctor v7.5 and I have yet to find a problem using this kit.

so i've decided to try again.
I've plugged in the PCI POST Card in one of my motherboards.

this is what is read on the card:

MHz: 33
-12V: -12.3
+12V: 11.7
I/O: 4.9
Auxiliary: 3.4
+3.3V: 3.3
+5V: 5

can someone tell me what these numbers mean?
thanks.
what does this information

Offline fwilson

jasglover,

These are the voltages and speed of your PCI bus.  The card will also display POST codes as the machine is booting.

-Fred
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even if nobody is watching.”  ~ J.C. Watts

Offline jasglover

Thanks,

the computer doesn't boot or run through POST

are the values i'm receiving on the card correct?

Offline fwilson

jasglover,

The values are whithin tollerance.  If it does not POST or display any POST codes this system is dying earlu on in the process.  You should check and reseat all socketed chips including the CPU and retest.  If it won't even start to POST there is little any diagnostics software or hardware can do.

-Fred

Offline jasglover

ok, so basically, what can this kit test?
i have the 7.5 version.

a couple days ago, I had a computer telling me that the hard drive had Bad blocks.  I ran tests on a hard drive using the kit, but no errors came up.

Offline fwilson

jasglover,

I cant test dead computers that won't even begin to POST, nothing can, at least for less money than a small car. I'm not sure how to answer the "ok, so basically, what can this kit test?" question, all the tests are listed in the documentation.